Valentine

You left me cold last night,
and the sky threatened to
erase all my love.
You turned from me,
and a silence, heavy like wet earth
buried me forever.
I do not like to be left alone
without your love’s last word,
to fill in the spaces of broken meaning,
to retrace a collapsed street of kisses.
Seduced by visions of wicked schemes,
I go, breaking off rose stems, hyacinths,
in this barbed night you bequeath me.
I dance alone, beneath a tottering moon.
With a twisted smile,
I rejoice in love’s destructions.

Leave a Reply

