Stubbed Toe

Sometimes I wish
I could just turn off
the roaring thought engines
in my head,
throw a spanner in the word press
that won’t stop printing
endless questions, endless polemic.
I’d love to escape
these solitary daydreams
and step into this warm flow of life
on the pier,
that the dusk is out
taking for a walk.
And I’d choke on my guffaw,
talk too loudly,
swig back a big glass of moon,
just be, just be.
Take the doorstop from my mouth,
un-stub my big toe,
free up my clogged flow.
Let me forget about her
and the thought barbs
that snag my albatross heart.
I want to stroll with the impish night
and make promises to the coming dawn.

One thought on “Stubbed Toe

Leave a Reply

