Eating Pizza

We sit eating pizza

and drinking red wine

with the curtains open to the moon.

I welcome the heaviness of the wine,

as I welcome the

weightless night outside;

the heaviness of your body on mine,

sinking into the bean bag.

Your warmth too,

is like a wine

that has escaped my lips

and slithers down my neck,

down my belly.

I have let go the oars of my body,

and now drift free and drunk

in the darkness of your skin.

Far off I hear some horror,

the shrill call of a bird

caught in the arms of flight.

But my body is free of struggle

and your perfume has sipped

the last closing of my eyelids tonight.

Leave a Reply

